Not just specs

Issues & Camp Impact

Safety warnings, delivery problems, app-store gaps, team-process history, and first-hand reports are tracked as sourced records.

Reset
2209 matching issue record(s)

scheduled workshop and post-event fulfillment boundary · official schedule, ANSSI listing, and public source tree · ten sessions and build documentation published; individual attendance and completed handoff unverified

Official leHACK and ANSSI pages schedule ten Badge Hackropole sessions, while the repository provides public build materials. The reviewed public sources do not publish a final session-completion report, attendee roster, kit count, finished-board count, individual receipt record, replacement policy, or post-event fulfillment account.

The compendium can preserve a concrete workshop artifact and buildable design without treating a schedule or a public repository as proof that every listed slot ran or that any specific person received and completed a badge.

Source note: leHACK workshop schedule and leLAB page; ANSSI leHACK listing; FCSC-FR hackropole-badge repository.

scheduled-drop and completed-distribution gap · published schedule and seller context · scheduled event activity documented; handoff outcome not recovered

A 2025 creator-event schedule records a FrogStar badge drop at BadgeLife Community, and a seller page describes a Defcon pickup preorder. This pass did not recover an after-action announcement, production count, sales record, recipient list, attendee report, final schedule confirmation, or delivery record showing how many FrogStars were made, sold, or handed over.

The DEF CON 33 attachment rests on a documented scheduled activity without turning it into a claim of universal attendee distribution or a completed event outcome.

Source note: DEF CON 33 Creator Events List and FrogStar Tindie listing.

scheduled-drop and completed-distribution gap · published schedule and preorder wording · scheduled event activity documented; handoff outcome not recovered

A 2025 creator-event schedule records a Submarine Badge drop at BadgeLife Community, and the seller describes a Defcon pickup preorder. This pass did not recover an after-action announcement, production count, sales record, recipient list, attendee report, final schedule confirmation, or delivery record showing how many bundles were made, sold, or handed over.

The DEF CON 33 attachment rests on a documented scheduled activity without turning it into a universal attendee distribution or completed event-outcome claim.

Source note: DEF CON 33 Creator Events List and Submarine Badge & Pirate SAO listing.

scheduled-drop and completed-distribution gap · published schedule and seller availability state · scheduled event activity documented; handoff outcome not recovered

A 2025 creator-event schedule records a FightDystopia Badge drop at BadgeLife Community, and a later seller page says the badge is sold out. This pass did not recover an after-action announcement, production count, recipient list, attendee report, final schedule confirmation, delivery record, or evidence relating the sold-out state to the scheduled drop.

The DEF CON 33 attachment rests on a documented scheduled activity without turning it into a universal attendee distribution, event outcome, or sale-allocation claim.

Source note: DEF CON 33 Creator Events List and FightDystopia 2025 Badge listing.

scheduled-drop, current recurrence, and completed-distribution gap · published schedules, seller listing, and vendor list · 2025 activity and planned 2026 recurrence documented; outcomes and revision unconfirmed

A public 2025 schedule records a Masonic33 Badge drop and seller/vendor pages show a $125 item. Badge.Life's current 2026 Village Schedule lists Masonic33 Badge — heal twice, but does not identify a new board or revision. This pass did not recover an after-action announcement, production count, booth location, receipt, recipient list, attendee report, final schedule confirmation, pickup/shipping record, completed donation accounting, or evidence that every listed package reached a recipient for either appearance.

The catalogue preserves a 2025 origin and planned 2026 recurrence without turning either schedule entry into a universal attendee distribution, completed event outcome, sale, allocation claim, or distinct DEF CON 34 badge.

Source note: Recovered DEF CON 33 schedule, Badge.Life DC34 Village Schedule, Masonic33 Tindie listing, Hak4Kidz profile, and Hacker Couture product list.

scope boundary · source-conservative public archive · documented caveat

The public Proteus archive documents firmware and build/update workflow; it does not by itself clear badge photos or prove every attendee-distribution detail beyond the Compass report's Area41-team badge statement.

The dossier presents the badge as a real Area41 2018 artifact while keeping image rights and distribution-depth claims narrow.

Source note: Compass Security wrap-up and le-krogoth/proteus repository.

screen import and reveal delay · official podcast, machine-transcribed locally · open; reveal pending

Elliot Williams says on the October 23, 2026 Hackaday Podcast that the badge photos and release are held until the screens clear export from Germany and import into the United States. A German customs export declaration was pending while the customs portal was offline, with one-day express shipping already paid.

The badge reveal and possibly screen availability depend on a pending cross-border shipment. The organizer calls it not a real killer for the badge process, so the record notes the dependency without forecasting a delivery problem.

Source note: Hackaday Podcast Episode 392, opening segment, transcribed locally from the official MP3 with WisprCLI large-v3.

screen, AAA battery, and power-safety gap · host-linked pre-event battery statement · AAA requirement and screens named; electrical details unpublished

The source says attendees should bring their own AAA batteries to turn on screens, but does not state number of cells, chemistry, nominal or operating voltage, polarity, holder, charging, power budget, display type, current draw, thermal behavior, low-battery behavior, battery handling, accessibility, electrical protections, or safety/compliance guidance.

The entry does not turn a bring-your-own-battery reminder into an electrical specification or a safety recommendation.

Source note: IQSEC-host-linked public WomenCon update.

secondary-source technical caveat · contemporary secondary source · needs primary technical corroboration

The core badge behavior for 2016 comes from a contemporary Register report rather than an official badge-team technical archive.

The entry stays conservative and keeps the official event page as event context while treating the Arduino and running-order claims as secondary-source technical evidence.

Source note: The Register event report and BSides Canberra 2016 event page.

sensor, hardware, power, and electrical-safety documentation gap · current maker description is high-level only · various-sensors wording documented; implementation unreported

The current source says only that the planned badge features various sensors. It does not identify their types, data, accuracy, calibration, controller, display, LEDs, audio, radio, battery, charging, USB, connector, pinout, dimensions, materials, schematic, BOM, Gerbers, current/voltage limits, assembly/test procedure, compatibility, privacy behavior, electrical safety, or compliance. The historical SAO's battery/USB/LED notes are not mapped to the current badge.

The record avoids inventing a sensor suite, electronic design, power path, safety state, accessibility behavior, or data-collection capability from the badge name or historical product association.

Source note: MakeItHackin DEF CON 34 roster response and separately named historical Tricorder SAO sources.

separate TOG hardware-flags boundary · first-hand TOG post-event account · distinct projects not equated

TOG reports building fifteen ESP8266 hardware flags in custom cases for the WICC CTF, but its account does not name OzmoOzmo, SecurityConferenceCTFBadge, or the repository's badge photo. Conversely, the maker README thanks TOG hackers and makers for beta testing without identifying TOG's fifteen flags as its own build.

The record preserves related physical-hardware context without merging separate maker provenance, hardware counts, designs, allocations, or authorship into one unsupported badge claim.

Source note: TOG Building Hardware Flags for WICC 2026 post and commit-pinned OzmoOzmo SecurityConferenceCTFBadge README.

service-scaling caveat · event report · documented with caution

Hackaday reports that the intended Alexa-style voice service was expensive to scale for hundreds of devices, so the catalogue treats Alexa behavior as an experiment and source trail rather than claiming full cloud voice-assistant service for every attendee badge.

The record preserves the voice/audio ambition without overstating default deployed service behavior.

Source note: Hackaday LayerOne 2018 badge report and CharlieX ESP32_Alexa repository.

shipping and fulfillment boundary · primary maker storefront source · needs delivery confirmation

The badge-only listing says badges ship in the second week of July, are US-only, and have no DEF CON pickup option. The product page does not independently confirm manufacture completion, carrier acceptance, delivery, recipient count, or any on-site distribution.

The catalogue preserves the seller-stated schedule and scope without converting it into confirmed pre-event or attendee delivery.

Source note: Pfarrside Creations badge-only product listing.

short-notice hardware caveats · RIOT OS board documentation · historical

RIOT OS documentation says the event and badge were organized in about six weeks and records hardware issues around the missing WiFi/BLE antenna connection, broken IR transceiver, partially populated SGP30 sensor, and missing MAX17048 fuel gauge.

The catalogue records the shipped board as a real attendee badge while preserving the known build limitations.

Source note: RIOT OS HiP Badge board documentation.

single-source artifact boundary · first-hand attendee toolkit plus official event page · organizer badge statement outstanding

The badge is documented only through a first-hand attendee toolkit; the official OFFZONE site never mentions it, and no organizer archive, schematic, photo rights, production count, or allocation statement was recovered.

The catalogue records the observed badge console and LED system without asserting organizer design intent, quantities, ticket-class scope, or any official firmware release.

Source note: OFFZONE official site and d8rt8v offzone-led-customizer, checked 2026-09-26.

soft-brick safety caveat · official walkthrough · documented

The A Nice Edit walkthrough warns that the challenge carries a high risk of soft-bricking the badge and explains that erasing flash without preserving the bootloader can make USB programming unrecoverable without ISP.

The badge page preserves the original risk context for firmware modification instead of presenting the challenge as routine or risk-free.

Source note: CyberThreat A Nice Edit walkthrough PDF.

software and puzzle archive gap · official event posts and agenda · puzzle role documented; implementation unreleased

Official wording confirms puzzle and solve context but does not disclose firmware, application, source repository, flashing method, protocol, flag count, challenge sequence, answers, scoring, prizes, source licence, or security analysis.

The entry does not turn the verified puzzle framing into unsupported CTF, firmware, networking, or credential claims.

Source note: BSides Maine badge puzzle post and 2026 agenda.

software lifecycle caveat · project page and repository · documented

Sources mention expected base firmware and linked firmware material but do not establish a single canonical, fully documented OTA/app ecosystem for all shard variants in this source pass.

The software record stays tied to the published architecture and shard references instead of inventing an endpoint, app-store, or locked release stream model.

Source note: cyberwatch codeberg docs and 39C3-release_board README.

software release, security, and operating-procedure boundary · Retia repository release history and immutable source snapshot · later public package trail; 2024 installed state and supported use unrecovered

The later archive contains examples and optional software packages, and the visible release surface is dated July 2026. No reviewed source identifies a 2024 installed image, source-to-unit mapping, signed release, default state, user-data handling, support policy, recovery policy, or safe current operating procedure. No code, flashing, configuration, connection, radio-use, or recovery directions are reproduced here.

The record links historical source evidence without presenting a later archive as confirmed 2024 event software, a secure deployment, a supported modification workflow, or operational instruction.

Source note: Retia immutable source-release commit/README and public release-history page.

software, NFC protocol, data, privacy, and security gap · public team self-submission · after-con code or firmware mentioned; no implementation material linked at recheck

The roster says code or firmware will be available after the con, but provides no repository or implementation documentation, and the post-date recheck still found none. It does not disclose NFC protocol or payload design, card identifiers, peer/reader behavior, phone or app requirements, backend, accounts, authentication, authorization, cloning resistance, encryption, telemetry, logs, personal-data handling, retention, deletion, privacy notice, threat model, security review, update path, or support policy.

The catalogue presents only the stated NFC game concept, not a defined communications protocol, software release, privacy practice, security guarantee, or safe operating guidance.

Source note: Public DEF CON 34 BadgeLife roster SR-71 self-submission.

software, artwork, third-party, media, and trademark license boundary · root MIT license, README credit, and project documentation · software/documentation license published; other rights kept separate

The root MIT license covers software and associated documentation and names the DefCon 34 Badge Team, FirstBuild, and GE Appliances; the README separately credits Phil Back for artwork and the project includes third-party notices. No reviewed source expressly licenses the credited artwork, repository image, DEF CON name, FirstBuild or GE Appliances marks, event media, or every third-party asset for independent publication.

The catalogue can cite the software/documentation licensing trail while retaining image, artwork, logo, trademark, and dependency-specific rights boundaries.

Source note: FirstBuild DefCon34-Badge LICENSE, README, THIRD_PARTY_NOTICES, and badge.gallery image policy.

software-source caveat · badge-maker writeup · needs software archive recovery

The badge-maker writeup says the CactusCon crew planned a software-side writeup and hints at event wireless infrastructure, but this pass did not recover a public firmware repository, complete challenge source, or software architecture note.

The catalogue records verified hardware and firmware-access surfaces while avoiding unsupported claims about the badge's full event game or OTA backend.

Source note: Badge Pirates CactusCon 11 Badge writeup.

software-source caveat · repository tree inspection · needs firmware archive recovery

The CactusCon13 repository exposes CAD, outer-board, documentation, reference, and 3D-print material, but this pass did not recover standalone final firmware, event-game source, OTA service code, or challenge archive.

The catalogue records verified hardware/manufacturing evidence while avoiding unsupported claims about badge software behavior.

Source note: BadgePiratesLLC/CactusCon13 repository tree.

software-source caveat · repository tree inspection · needs firmware archive recovery

The GitHub repository description mentions firmware, but the visible public tree inspected in this pass primarily exposes hardware design, manufacturing, enclosure, BOM, schematic, and art outputs rather than standalone event firmware or challenge source.

The catalogue records the verified hardware archive while avoiding unsupported claims about badge applications, games, OTA behavior, or event infrastructure.

Source note: BadgePiratesLLC/CactusCon14 README and repository tree.

soil-sensing feature, field behavior, and outcome boundary · maker repository description · high-level feature documented; use and field result unrecovered

The maker archive calls the artifact a working soil sensor, but it does not publish a deployed-use record, participant count, environmental conditions, calibration result, measurement comparison, challenge or game rules, data retention, participant outcome, prize policy, ongoing service status, or a safe/reproducible operating procedure. No sensing, connection, configuration, or interaction directions are reproduced here.

The catalogue makes the source-described badge feature discoverable without inferring tested performance, universal participation, a completed challenge, individual outcomes, or a safe operating workflow.

Source note: bsides-newcastle-2024-badge README and public archive.

soldering, 18650, USB-C, and hardware-safety specification boundary · official BadgeLife guide · parts and safety reminders documented; engineering validation unrecovered

The guide names a bodge wire, 3 mm LED, 1 kΩ resistor, polarized buzzer, single-cell 18650 battery, USB-C, charging/protection circuitry, SAO v2 headers, LEDs, and infrared receiver, and includes basic soldering cautions. It does not establish the schematic/BOM revision, component substitutions, battery chemistry/capacity or charger settings, voltage/current/thermal budgets, protection design, connector limits, SAO pinout/current limits, test procedure, failure analysis, compliance, manufacturing quality, or a safe assembly/use result.

The source-linked record retains the documented physical work without becoming a battery, soldering, USB, SAO, electrical, or repair endorsement.

Source note: Badge.Life DC34 Village Badge guide.

source and media boundary · official event source but incomplete technical archive · needs badge-team archive

The recovered public trail proves the event context and visible 2021 MiniBadge collection, but this pass did not recover a central build guide, complete schematic/BOM set, firmware archive, production counts, or reusable image permission for page media.

The record keeps claims tied to the official archive page, Sched listing, venue page, and MiniBadge standard, and leaves the page image-free until a rights-cleared original photo or official render is available.

Source note: SAINTCON 2021 archive, MiniBadges page, venue page, Sched listing, MiniBadge standard README, and badge.gallery image policy.

source and media boundary · official event source plus community catalogue but incomplete archive · needs badge-team archive

The recovered public trail proves the event context, MiniBadge culture, and year-specific data export, but this pass did not recover a central 2023 build guide, official per-badge source archive, final schematic set, complete BOM set, firmware archive, or reusable image permission for wiki/page media.

The record keeps hardware claims to official FAQ language, community data-export fields, and the MiniBadge standard instead of inventing missing per-badge technical detail.

Source note: SAINTCON 2023 official site, FAQ, MiniBadge Wiki export, MiniBadge standard README, and badge.gallery image policy.

source and media boundary · official page but incomplete technical archive · needs badge-team archive

The recovered public trail proves the trading page, build-guide link, and MiniBadge standard context, but this pass did not recover a central per-badge source archive, final schematic set, complete BOM set, firmware archive, or reusable image permission for guide/page media.

The record keeps hardware/protocol claims to the MiniBadge standard and official trading-page wording, and leaves the page image-free until a rights-cleared original photo or official render is available.

Source note: SAINTCON 2024 MiniBadge trading page, linked build-guide PDF, MiniBadge standard README, and badge.gallery image policy.

source archive, binary, and software-release scope · MIT source archive · substantial earlier archive; current release scope undocumented

The repository supplies substantial DC32 Arduino, KiCad, Gerber, CAD, and documentation material under MIT, but has no identified final 2026 product release, signed binary, provisioning record, current-source compatibility statement, rollback/recovery guidance, or support lifecycle. Its quickstart says the CTF portion was a precompiled library whose source was to be released after DEF CON 32.

The catalogue links the preservation source without misrepresenting it as a complete, current, supported, reproducible 2026 field-update package or a full release of every historic CTF component.

Source note: `btv_dc32_badge` README and code quickstart.

source attribution, pre-event availability, and fulfillment boundary · single public post and official event-context source · announced offer; account relationship and outcome unverified

A public Reddit account names the badge, 100-unit plan, price, and Hall W4, while the official DEF CON forum confirms only the upcoming conference date and venue. No reviewed storefront, company announcement, vendor list, checkout, sales record, shipping/pickup terms, maker identity proof, production record, allocation, payment, receipt, delivery, refund, replacement, or attendee handoff evidence was recovered.

The catalogue records the concrete pre-event offer while leaving attribution, seller relationship, availability, sale, fulfillment, and event outcome explicitly unresolved.

Source note: Sneakreaper limited edition defcon badge! and official DEF CON 34 Las Vegas announcement.

source date discrepancy · official pages and founder announcement · official date retained

The official NaClCON site, registration page, schedule, and organizer ticketing all give May 31-June 2, 2026, while the founder's badge announcement says May 30-June 2. No reviewed source explains the one-day difference.

The event and badge record follow the repeated official May 31-June 2 date while preserving the conflicting first-hand pre-event wording for future archive recovery.

Source note: NaClCON official pages, Multipass ticket page, and Luke McOmie announcement.

source depth · source-backed but compact · documented caveat

The public sources are strong for kit intent, BOM, assembly, Arduino workflow, Gerbers, KiCad files, and photos, but they do not provide a full event field report or attendee writeup for how the badge was used during the day.

The record keeps its claims to documented kit distribution, assembly, and sample-code behavior rather than inventing on-site gameplay or contest lore.

Source note: BSides PR 2019 badge docs, repository README, and Security BSides wiki page.

source inventory caveat · repository tree and releases · needs deeper artifact inventory

The public tree preserves many firmware library files, role-specific hardware variants, backup archives, release HEX files, BOM CSVs, and Metro add-on material, but this pass did not audit every generated backup zip, dependency license, or manufacturing output.

Software and production claims stay tied to README, releases, firmware README, visible hardware tree, and named release assets rather than treating the repository as a fully inventoried manufacturing archive.

Source note: ElectronicCats/Badge-bsides-cdmx-2025 repository tree, firmware README, and releases page.

source license and reuse gap · public repository inspection · needs explicit license statement

DCZia publicly describes the design files and firmware as available and the repository exposes KiCad, BOM, fabrication, CircuitPython, and UF2 material, but the reviewed repository root and the September 25 GitHub metadata recheck still expose no explicit software, hardware, or image-reuse license, release, or tag.

The record may describe the publicly visible technical material but does not treat availability as a license to redistribute source, hardware, firmware, or images.

Source note: dczia/mk9-badge repository root, public file tree, and GitHub metadata endpoint.

source preservation and attribution boundary · official registration changed after event; secondary tier capture · official context retained; historical tier details incompletely preserved

HackNWA's official event material and organizer-linked registration page establish the event and completed registration state, but the exact VIP tier wording and price survive only in a contemporaneous third-party listing. No badge-team page, product page, technical archive, first-hand recipient report, or rights-cleared artifact photo was recovered.

The catalogue uses the secondary listing narrowly for its captured ticket wording and price while preserving the absence of a primary artifact specification, maker attribution, delivery record, and reusable image authority.

Source note: HackNWA official event page and registration link; AllEvents ticket listing.

source publication, physical unit, and fulfilment boundary · publisher-controlled repository · public project source; physical and distribution outcome unverified

A public repository provides concrete project documentation, but it does not establish a final manufactured unit, completed assembly, quantity, price, purchaser or attendee allocation, sale, giveaway, pickup, shipment, receipt, support, replacement, or a completed event handoff. A GitHub account name is recorded only as source attribution and is not treated as proof of a person, team, organizer, or party role.

The catalogue preserves a real source-documented electronic-badge project without presenting it as a delivered product, attendee issue, or verified physical run.

Source note: Aask42 MidWestCoastBadge repository snapshot and MVP note.

source release, deployed-firmware, and interaction boundary · repository chronology and maker wording · post-event Arduino source visible; event deployment and support unrecovered

The archive's public main.ino source was added after the event, has no reviewed compiled binary, tag, GitHub release, explicit repository license, deployment record, support policy, or source-to-device mapping. Its maker describes the project as a one-off challenge. The code's Wi-Fi and web-server surfaces are therefore treated as source context rather than a live service, accessible challenge, secure workflow, or operating instruction.

The catalogue does not expose connection or challenge details, claim a current working service, offer configuration guidance, infer a released event firmware, or treat public source visibility as a broad license or support commitment.

Source note: HackTheBadge commit history, post-event source-release commit, README, and repository metadata review.

source-archive gap · public-source recheck · needs archive recovery

The postmortem says source code and Gerbers were published, but a current public-source check found the referenced GitHub trail unavailable while the Hackaday.io file area still exposes only VRML/SVG/DXF model files.

The record cites the available project logs and model archive while avoiding stronger open-hardware/source-code claims until the missing repository or an archive mirror is recovered.

Source note: AND!XOR DC25 postmortem, Hackaday.io files area, and current public GitHub search.

source-code and production gap · official event archive plus public badge docs · needs badge-team archive

The public documentation proves the kit contents, assembly path, flashing workflow, and Hackers Challenge registration behavior, but this pass did not recover a public schematic archive, PCB source, production count, complete Lua source tree, final firmware image mirror, or badge-team repository.

The record preserves verified public hardware and workflow facts without inventing unrecovered firmware internals, board-source details, or manufacturing data.

Source note: SAINTCON 2016 archive, venue map, badge assembly, upload-code, and registration documentation.

source-code archive gap · source-backed but incomplete · needs public firmware or schematic recovery

The recovered sources document hardware components, soldering, USB CTF interaction, and LED progress behavior, but this pass did not recover a public firmware, schematic, PCB, BOM, or gerber archive.

The dossier records the verified badge behavior while avoiding unsupported pinout, firmware, protocol, or source-release claims.

Source note: Hackster Wombat badge writeup, Hackerware badge page, and soldering tutorial PDF.