Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 · United States · 2026

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge

nRF52840/SX1262 electronic conference badge with a public post-event GPL firmware archive

Hackers Teaching Hackers' official materials establish the June 3-5, 2026 Columbus-area practitioner conference with villages and a CTF. Zack Nagaich's public Eagle 5 repository labels itself the 2026 HTH conference-badge firmware and documents an nRF52840 plus SX1262 electronic badge with LEDs, USB roles, RNode/Reticulum-oriented firmware, on-badge CLI, and CTF source context. An attendee account independently says their light-up badge was part of the conference CTF, while the organizer has not directly published this 2026 repository or a distribution record.

EventHackers Teaching Hackers 2026
SeriesHackers Teaching Hackers
LocationBrewDog DogTap, Canal Winchester, Ohio
CountryUnited States

People

Authors & Credits

2026 event organizer and conference-context publisher

Hackers Teaching Hackers

Official HTH sources identify the annual information-security practitioner conference, its hacker/village/CTF context, 2026 Spaceballs edition, and Columbus-area venue. This is an event-context credit, not an assertion that the organizer owns the Eagle 5 repository or controlled its distribution.

Source

Eagle 5 2026 post-event source-archive publisher

Zack Nagaich (syn-ack-zack)

The public GitHub profile identifies Zack Nagaich, and the July 15 initial release under syn-ack-zack explicitly names the Eagle 5 HTH 2026 badge firmware. This is a scoped source-publisher credit, not a claim of sole hardware design, event badge leadership, manufacture, fulfilment, branding, or image authority.

Source

public post-event attendee badge corroborator

Paul Danis

The named public attendee account describes a worn HTH 2026 badge as lighting up and being part of the conference CTF. This is a first-hand artifact/CTF corroboration credit, not a design, source, manufacture, distribution, or image-reuse attribution.

Source

Why It Mattered

It introduces a current Ohio hacker-conference badge with a substantial public firmware archive while keeping the crucial provenance distinction visible: the 2026 source is a long-standing HTH badge publisher's post-event release, not an organizer-owned 2026 distribution ledger or a complete production archive.

Hardware

The Eagle 5 README identifies an nRF52840-QIAA controller, SX1262 LoRa radio, a 74HC595 shift register driving nine single-color LEDs, one RGB wing, and dual USB CDC roles. The public repository does not include a native schematic, PCB layout, BOM, Gerbers, fabrication output, enclosure specification, battery/power source, antenna specification, radio-region configuration, production test result, or a final populated-board declaration.

Software & Apps

The GPLv3 repository provides a PlatformIO-oriented firmware tree, RNode integration, Reticulum-oriented modem context, an on-badge command-line interface, LED animations, BLE-related source, and CTF state/source material. A single July 15 post-event initial-release commit introduced the public tree, with no GitHub tag or release. This dossier describes the source at a high level and does not reproduce operating, flashing, radio, or challenge instructions.

Lore

HTH describes itself as an annual information-security practitioner conference for hackers, defenders, makers, breakers, and hobbyists, with hands-on villages and CTF challenges. Its official GitHub organization previously forked Zack Nagaich's 2025 HTH badge repository, and Zack's account also preserves 2019, 2021, and 2024 HTH badge repositories. The July 2026 Eagle 5 source release therefore has a strong badge-team lineage, while its non-organizer ownership, post-event publication timing, and source-controlled badge photo require a careful boundary on official status, fulfilment, and image rights.

Lifecycle

Add-ons & Upgrades

badge I/O documentation README-backed source detail

LED and dual USB interface surface

The README identifies a 74HC595 plus nine single-color LEDs, one RGB wing, and dual USB CDC roles. No schematic, PCB, wiring, electrical limits, display, button map, or final component-population documentation was recovered.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Source
badge controller and radio context README-backed source detail

nRF52840-QIAA and SX1262 documented core

The Eagle 5 README identifies an nRF52840-QIAA controller and SX1262 LoRa radio. It does not state frequency configuration, regulatory region, antenna characteristics, actual transmit behavior, final board revision, or a complete radio/power design.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Source
communications firmware context source-backed high-level capability

RNode and Reticulum-oriented firmware integration

The README and changes document an RNode-oriented modem integration and Reticulum mesh context on the documented board. This is an archive-level capability statement only; the record does not state a frequency, configuration, deployment, coverage, legal authorization, field result, or operating procedure.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Source
event association source-backed; direct organizer 2026 repository link unrecovered

HTH 2026 badge-team provenance trail

The Eagle 5 repository calls itself the HTH 2026 conference-badge firmware, and its publisher has a multi-year HTH badge archive. The official HTH organization previously forked the publisher's 2025 badge source. Together this supports a conservative badge-team association, not an assertion that HTH owned the 2026 repository or administered all distribution.

Compatibility: Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge

Source
firmware license repository root declaration

GPLv3 firmware source declaration

The repository provides a GPLv3 root license and README statement for the firmware. That source-license record is kept separate from any physical badge, manufacturing, branding, image, or support claim.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 firmware source archive

Source
firmware source archive public post-event initial release

Public firmware, CLI, animation, and CTF source

The July source archive includes firmware code for a badge CLI, LED animations, BLE-related components, and CTF state material. The catalogue records the published source context without giving operational, radio, flashing, or challenge-completion instructions or claiming a deployed production image.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Source

Operational history

Issues & Camp Impact

distribution, ticket, and attendee-handoff gap note

Official HTH sources establish that the June 3-5 conference occurred, and a public attendee account says a light-up badge was part of the CTF. No reviewed source establishes ticket eligibility, badge price, production quantity, inventory, role variants, recipient count, registration pickup, shipment, replacement, refund, attendee-wide allocation, or individual physical receipt of the Eagle 5 hardware.

The entry does not turn a public source archive or one attendee account into a distribution record or a claim that every conference participant received the same badge.

Confidence
official event and post-event archive sources
Status
event complete; allocation outcome unrecovered
Timeframe
HTH 2026 post-event source pass
Source note
HTH official site and LinkedIn updates; Paul Danis public account; Eagle 5 source repository.
final hardware, power, and electrical-safety gap note

The public source names controller, radio, LEDs, shift register, and USB roles, but it does not publish a native schematic, PCB layout, BOM, fabrication file, board dimensions, enclosure, button/connector map, antenna design, battery/power architecture, charge/protection circuit, electrical limits, thermal result, production test, compliance result, or final populated-board revision.

The catalogue preserves the narrow source-backed hardware outline without representing it as a complete build specification, safety assessment, compatibility guarantee, or fabrication recipe.

Confidence
firmware README and repository-tree review
Status
partial hardware summary public; production device unconfirmed
Timeframe
current catalogue build
Source note
Eagle 5 README, repository tree, and initial-release commit.
firmware license and photo-provenance boundary note

The README declares GPLv3 for the firmware and the root contains GNU GPLv3 text, but the embedded Eagle 5 photo does not identify a photographer, an image-specific attribution requirement, or complete processing provenance. This pass does not assume that a firmware license alone resolves all facts needed to republish a selected documentary image.

GPLv3 source information is recorded for research, while any local photo asset remains blocked until its individual source, reuse basis, attribution, and processing record are complete.

Confidence
repository README and root-license review
Status
GPLv3 firmware source recorded; image provenance incomplete
Timeframe
current catalogue build
Source note
Eagle 5 README, repository LICENSE, and badge.gallery image policy.
firmware release and deployed-image gap note

The public repository has a single July 15 initial-release commit and no GitHub tag or release. It exposes firmware source and documentation, but reviewed sources do not map a versioned build to actual event units, establish a final signed/validated production image, state CTF deployment/results, or define an owner recovery/support lifecycle.

The dossier treats it as valuable code evidence without claiming the current checkout is the final deployed badge firmware or a supported update/recovery path.

Confidence
GitHub repository state
Status
post-event initial source release visible; final device state unrecovered
Timeframe
source pass on 2026-08-04
Source note
Eagle 5 repository metadata, commit history, README, and tag/release endpoints.
individual design and fulfillment-credit gap note

Zack Nagaich is named by the GitHub account and initial release, and Paul Danis is named by the attendee account, but reviewed sources do not identify the 2026 Eagle 5 PCB designer, visual artist, hardware reviewer, firmware coauthors, event badge lead, manufacturer, assembler, seller, fulfilment owner, or image-rights authority.

The catalogue credits only the named event organization, source publisher, and attendee report without inferring individual design, production, distribution, branding, or image-use roles.

Confidence
named publisher and attendee sources
Status
scoped publisher/attendee credits only
Timeframe
post-event source pass
Source note
HTH official sources; syn-ack-zack profile and Eagle 5 commit; Paul Danis public account.
missing rights-cleared image note

No Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge image is published because the repository README photo and any organizer or attendee media do not pair a selected factual badge image with a complete reusable license or explicit permission basis, named attribution, source URL, and processing notes.

The record remains source-backed and image-free rather than copying the repository photo, social-media media, GitHub previews, logos, screenshots, or generated/approximate badge imagery.

Confidence
local project policy
Status
needs licensed original replacement
Timeframe
current catalogue build
Source note
badge.gallery image policy; Eagle 5 README; HTH and attendee media review.
official 2026 repository-association boundary note

The source publisher's previous HTH badge repositories and the official HTH organization's 2025 fork establish a strong historical badge-team relationship, while the Eagle 5 repo explicitly names HTH 2026. The reviewed official HTH pages do not directly link or list the 2026 Eagle 5 repository, author, or board as an official organizer-owned project.

The catalogue records a real HTH 2026 electronic-badge source trail without claiming an organizer-owned repository, a formal event endorsement, or universal official issuance from affiliation alone.

Confidence
convergent official-history and publisher sources
Status
badge-team provenance supported; direct organizer 2026 repo link unrecovered
Timeframe
post-event source pass on 2026-08-04
Source note
HTHackers GitHub organization and J5-ShortCircuit fork metadata; syn-ack-zack account; Eagle 5 repository; HTH official site.
radio scope, lawful-use, and field-operation boundary note

The source identifies an SX1262 and RNode/Reticulum-oriented firmware context but does not establish radio band/region configuration, antenna characteristics, authorization, venue coordination, permitted use conditions, actual over-the-air deployment, range, interference testing, privacy handling, or safety outcome at HTH 2026.

The catalogue records high-level communications capability only and deliberately omits operating instructions, frequency/configuration guidance, challenge tactics, and claims about lawful or safe field operation.

Confidence
source-backed capability but incomplete operational record
Status
technical context documented; field use unverified
Timeframe
current catalogue build
Source note
Eagle 5 README, CHANGES.md, and HTH 2026 source-review boundary.

Resources

Sources