Hackers Teaching Hackers

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026

The June 3-5, 2026 Spaceballs-themed Hackers Teaching Hackers practitioner conference, whose official materials document the Columbus-area hacker, village, and CTF event. A public post-event Eagle 5 firmware archive and attendee account establish an electronic badge trail, while final board, allocation, and organizer-owned 2026 repository evidence remain unrecovered.

BrewDog DogTap, Canal Winchester, Ohio · United States · 2026

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge

Hackers Teaching Hackers' official materials establish the June 3-5, 2026 Columbus-area practitioner conference with villages and a CTF. Zack Nagaich's public Eagle 5 repository labels itself the 2026 HTH conference-badge firmware and documents an nRF52840 plus SX1262 electronic badge with LEDs, USB roles, RNode/Reticulum-oriented firmware, on-badge CLI, and CTF source context. An attendee account independently says their light-up badge was part of the conference CTF, while the organizer has not directly published this 2026 repository or a distribution record.

Lifecycle

Add-ons & Upgrades

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge README-backed source detail

badge I/O documentation

LED and dual USB interface surface

The README identifies a 74HC595 plus nine single-color LEDs, one RGB wing, and dual USB CDC roles. No schematic, PCB, wiring, electrical limits, display, button map, or final component-population documentation was recovered.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge README-backed source detail

badge controller and radio context

nRF52840-QIAA and SX1262 documented core

The Eagle 5 README identifies an nRF52840-QIAA controller and SX1262 LoRa radio. It does not state frequency configuration, regulatory region, antenna characteristics, actual transmit behavior, final board revision, or a complete radio/power design.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge source-backed high-level capability

communications firmware context

RNode and Reticulum-oriented firmware integration

The README and changes document an RNode-oriented modem integration and Reticulum mesh context on the documented board. This is an archive-level capability statement only; the record does not state a frequency, configuration, deployment, coverage, legal authorization, field result, or operating procedure.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge source-backed; direct organizer 2026 repository link unrecovered

event association

HTH 2026 badge-team provenance trail

The Eagle 5 repository calls itself the HTH 2026 conference-badge firmware, and its publisher has a multi-year HTH badge archive. The official HTH organization previously forked the publisher's 2025 badge source. Together this supports a conservative badge-team association, not an assertion that HTH owned the 2026 repository or administered all distribution.

Compatibility: Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge

Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge public post-event initial release

firmware source archive

Public firmware, CLI, animation, and CTF source

The July source archive includes firmware code for a badge CLI, LED animations, BLE-related components, and CTF state material. The catalogue records the published source context without giving operational, radio, flashing, or challenge-completion instructions or claiming a deployed production image.

Compatibility: Eagle 5 2026 HTH source archive

Operational history

Issues & Camp Impact

distribution, ticket, and attendee-handoff gap · official event and post-event archive sources · event complete; allocation outcome unrecovered

Official HTH sources establish that the June 3-5 conference occurred, and a public attendee account says a light-up badge was part of the CTF. No reviewed source establishes ticket eligibility, badge price, production quantity, inventory, role variants, recipient count, registration pickup, shipment, replacement, refund, attendee-wide allocation, or individual physical receipt of the Eagle 5 hardware.

The entry does not turn a public source archive or one attendee account into a distribution record or a claim that every conference participant received the same badge.

final hardware, power, and electrical-safety gap · firmware README and repository-tree review · partial hardware summary public; production device unconfirmed

The public source names controller, radio, LEDs, shift register, and USB roles, but it does not publish a native schematic, PCB layout, BOM, fabrication file, board dimensions, enclosure, button/connector map, antenna design, battery/power architecture, charge/protection circuit, electrical limits, thermal result, production test, compliance result, or final populated-board revision.

The catalogue preserves the narrow source-backed hardware outline without representing it as a complete build specification, safety assessment, compatibility guarantee, or fabrication recipe.

firmware license and photo-provenance boundary · repository README and root-license review · GPLv3 firmware source recorded; image provenance incomplete

The README declares GPLv3 for the firmware and the root contains GNU GPLv3 text, but the embedded Eagle 5 photo does not identify a photographer, an image-specific attribution requirement, or complete processing provenance. This pass does not assume that a firmware license alone resolves all facts needed to republish a selected documentary image.

GPLv3 source information is recorded for research, while any local photo asset remains blocked until its individual source, reuse basis, attribution, and processing record are complete.

firmware release and deployed-image gap · GitHub repository state · post-event initial source release visible; final device state unrecovered

The public repository has a single July 15 initial-release commit and no GitHub tag or release. It exposes firmware source and documentation, but reviewed sources do not map a versioned build to actual event units, establish a final signed/validated production image, state CTF deployment/results, or define an owner recovery/support lifecycle.

The dossier treats it as valuable code evidence without claiming the current checkout is the final deployed badge firmware or a supported update/recovery path.

individual design and fulfillment-credit gap · named publisher and attendee sources · scoped publisher/attendee credits only

Zack Nagaich is named by the GitHub account and initial release, and Paul Danis is named by the attendee account, but reviewed sources do not identify the 2026 Eagle 5 PCB designer, visual artist, hardware reviewer, firmware coauthors, event badge lead, manufacturer, assembler, seller, fulfilment owner, or image-rights authority.

The catalogue credits only the named event organization, source publisher, and attendee report without inferring individual design, production, distribution, branding, or image-use roles.

missing rights-cleared image · local project policy · needs licensed original replacement

No Hackers Teaching Hackers 2026 Eagle 5 Badge image is published because the repository README photo and any organizer or attendee media do not pair a selected factual badge image with a complete reusable license or explicit permission basis, named attribution, source URL, and processing notes.

The record remains source-backed and image-free rather than copying the repository photo, social-media media, GitHub previews, logos, screenshots, or generated/approximate badge imagery.

official 2026 repository-association boundary · convergent official-history and publisher sources · badge-team provenance supported; direct organizer 2026 repo link unrecovered

The source publisher's previous HTH badge repositories and the official HTH organization's 2025 fork establish a strong historical badge-team relationship, while the Eagle 5 repo explicitly names HTH 2026. The reviewed official HTH pages do not directly link or list the 2026 Eagle 5 repository, author, or board as an official organizer-owned project.

The catalogue records a real HTH 2026 electronic-badge source trail without claiming an organizer-owned repository, a formal event endorsement, or universal official issuance from affiliation alone.

radio scope, lawful-use, and field-operation boundary · source-backed capability but incomplete operational record · technical context documented; field use unverified

The source identifies an SX1262 and RNode/Reticulum-oriented firmware context but does not establish radio band/region configuration, antenna characteristics, authorization, venue coordination, permitted use conditions, actual over-the-air deployment, range, interference testing, privacy handling, or safety outcome at HTH 2026.

The catalogue records high-level communications capability only and deliberately omits operating instructions, frequency/configuration guidance, challenge tactics, and claims about lawful or safe field operation.

Resources

Sources