Lifecycle

Add-ons & Upgrades

Badge ecosystems keep moving after handout: apps, hexpansions, SAOs, antennas, cases, repair parts, firmware updates, and post-event hardware experiments.

Reset
2279 matching add-on(s)
2026 eChallengeCoin (DEF CON 34) planned limited edition; final production and allocation unconfirmed

maker-described production and physical form

Planned 40-brass-coin limited run

AoSC says the 2026 edition is a limited release with a plan for 40 brass eChallengeCoins, each weighing 46 grams. It does not establish a finished quantity, serialized allocation, component parity, production date, inventory, recipients, shipping/pickup outcomes, replacements, resale, or post-event availability.

Compatibility: 2026 eChallengeCoin (DEF CON 34)

Source
UPDeeDeeI SAO (DEF CON 34) official maker product description

maker-described programming capability

CH340E UPDI programming and selectable-voltage claim

The listing says a CH340E USB-to-serial converter can program UPDI devices such as ATtiny microcontrollers and names configurable 3.3 V or 5 V UPDI voltage. It does not publish wiring, driver requirements, target support, protocol configuration, level validation, fuse/lock-bit handling, recovery procedure, or a safe universal programming guarantee.

Compatibility: UPDeeDeeI SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source
Firefly Jar SAO (DEF CON 34) proposal-level compatibility claim

maker-described proposed host interface

Rare Circuit SAOv3 proposal and lighting-control claim

The maker says the SAO implements Rare Circuit's proposed SAOv3 I2C interface, exposing vendor/product IDs, port and custom-command information, generic LED control, and its own lighting modes. It does not publish a final protocol version, command schema, IDs, host implementation, interoperability result, standard-ratification status, or broad compatibility guarantee.

Compatibility: Firefly Jar SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source
MalO SAO (DEF CON 34) ongoing first-hand project work

maker-described proximity communication

IR and NFC/RFID interaction surface

The marketplace and README describe IR send/receive plus a 13.56 MHz RFID/NFC component, while the diary discusses a planned short-message interaction over infrared. The sources do not establish a final message format, range, pairing/discovery rules, encryption/authentication, collision handling, data retention, interoperability, regulatory status, or user-consent model.

Compatibility: MalO SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source
NilbinSec Power Glove Re-release SAO (DEF CON 34) planned; 2026 archive not yet public in this source pass

maker-described publication plan

Planned Day-1 GitHub posting

The current roster says the re-release will be posted to NilbinSec GitHub on DEF CON Day 1. Before the August 6 event, the reviewed account already had only the older DC32 Power Glove repository, so no 2026-specific source, firmware, release, revision note, licence, or final production mapping was available.

Compatibility: NilbinSec Power Glove Re-release SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source

maker-described puzzle surface

Hardware/software and soldering puzzle claim

The product page says Submarine includes hardware and software puzzles plus a few soldering challenges. It does not list a component kit, soldering steps, temperature/safety guidance, challenge prerequisites, tooling, board revisions, troubleshooting, reset path, solution policy, or completed event-support record.

Compatibility: Submarine Badge & Pirate SAO (DEF CON 33)

Source
FightDystopia 2025 Badge (DEF CON 33) feature claim without implementation details

maker-described radio awareness feature

User-defined BLE-MAC-address detection claim

The listing says the badge detects a user-defined list of BLE MAC addresses to give a heads-up about what is around the user. It does not say whether behavior is passive or active, which address types/advertisements are used, how a list is configured or stored, range, cadence, false positives, logging, network use, consent, retention, security, or regulatory context.

Compatibility: FightDystopia 2025 Badge (DEF CON 33)

Source
Darknet-NG SMAO (DEF CON 34) commit-pinned maker hardware documentation

maker-described radio hardware surface

nRF52840, RAK4630, SX1262, and dual chip-antenna source

The maker's v1.4 source identifies an nRF52840 on a RAK4630, a Semtech SX1262 LoRa radio on US 915 MHz, and Johanson chip antennas for 915 MHz LoRa and 2.4 GHz BLE. It includes board, component, and measurement sources, but does not amount to a certification, independent RF assessment, universal host result, or final-unit inspection.

Compatibility: Darknet-NG SMAO v1.4 source design

Source

maker-described security-research feature

Wi-Fi/Bluetooth analysis and deauthentication-detection surface

The official product description says the badge has Wi-Fi and Bluetooth analysis tools and a deauthentication detector. The seller says shipped units are passive and listen-only; no configuration, range, accuracy, traffic handling, target-identification, privacy, RF, legal, or operating procedure is published here. This dossier does not provide use instructions or describe the badge as suitable for any particular environment.

Compatibility: Clip-Boy: The Unofficial DEF CON 34 Electronic Badge

Source
Ouroboros Badge (DEF CON 34) source claims; independent validation not found

maker-described software and protocol surface

Bare-metal UART puzzle and performance/security claims

The product and maker post describe bare-metal/pure RISC-V assembly on CH32V003 and a custom UART puzzle at 115200 baud; the product describes fourteen stages, Davies-Meyer, SPECK-128/256, a constant-time MAC, and an 8 MHz low-power mode. These claims do not substitute for matching released firmware, binaries, build or flash instructions, test vectors, benchmark method, security review, recovery process, or proof that any shipped unit matches the description.

Compatibility: Ouroboros Badge (DEF CON 34)

Source
MalO SAO (DEF CON 34) project work ongoing before the event

maker-described software experience

Games, puzzles, screensavers, messages, and editable-firmware claim

The sources describe games, puzzles, screensavers, messages, user modification through USB-C, a compiled C library, and an evolving Python/C++ two-core arrangement. No reviewed material supplies a tagged final firmware, end-user build/flash guide, challenge archive, stable UI specification, release hashes, update policy, test report, or final behavior guarantee.

Compatibility: MalO SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source
SAO Many SAOs Badge (DEF CON 33) public product page and technical README

maker-documented attachment and display surface

25-slot host, SmartAO-linked outer LEDs, and leash accessories

The maker says the board holds up to 25 SAOs, has a notch beside each port for tethering, includes keyhole-compatible leash-ring rectangles, and exposes outer white LEDs linked to the top-left slot; the product page says the separate SmartAO SAO is required for the outer LEDs. It does not publish slot pinouts, port layout, connector orientation, current per port, SmartAO protocol, LED circuitry, compatibility matrix, mechanical load test, or user safety guidance.

Compatibility: SAO Many SAOs Badge (DEF CON 33)

Source
DEF CON 34 Silent Disco Badge current public README; physical boards reported assembled

maker-documented badge experience

Local DJ mixes and music-linked light show

The maker README describes local DJ mixes played through headphones and a music-linked light show. This documents a stated badge experience, not a particular playlist, licensed media set, audio level/safety result, event programme, radio broadcast, attendee allocation, final firmware configuration, or confirmed conference deployment.

Compatibility: DEF CON Silent Disco Badge as described by its maker; headphone/media/firmware parity across physical boards unverified

Source
DEF CON 34 Silent Disco Badge current public README and firmware notes

maker-documented badge-to-badge interaction

Infrared friend-sync interaction

The README says two badges can use infrared to converge on track position and light timing, while the firmware notes document revision-specific infrared context. This is a high-level maker-published interaction claim, not an interoperability guarantee, protocol specification, privacy/security assertion, reliable-range result, safe operating instruction, or evidence of an event-wide synchronized session.

Compatibility: DEF CON Silent Disco Badge project only; revision, line-of-sight, and event-use parity unverified

Source
Gunslinger-B-Gone Badge and Sheriff SAO Combo (DEF CON 33) manual soldering instruction published

maker-documented companion connection

Gunslinger-to-Sheriff SAO attachment guide

The maker says the Gunslinger combo includes an SAO connector, directs the user to solder it to the Gunslinger with the notch side up, then to set the Sheriff power to SAO mode. The source does not publish the connector pinout, electrical limits, orientation drawing beyond prose, hot-plug guidance, strain relief, compatibility with other SAOs, verification steps, or troubleshooting.

Compatibility: Gunslinger-B-Gone Badge and included Sheriff SAO

Source
DEF CON 34 Silent Disco Badge versioned public design documentation

maker-documented electronic badge platform

RP2040, local media, audio, LED, and connector platform

Public documentation identifies an RP2040, microSD/local media, LiPo power path, 3.5 mm audio chain, addressable LEDs, USB-C, infrared components, and an SAO header. It records a high-level technical surface rather than a verified final BOM, pinout, voltage/current budget, cell specification, charger protection result, electrical test, compatibility matrix, compliance record, or safe-modification guide.

Compatibility: Maker's documented Silent Disco Badge design; exact revision and physical-unit component parity unverified

Source
FrogStar Badge (DEF CON 33) maker technical page

maker-documented electronic hardware surface

RP2350 round-display and input surface

BigTaro lists a Raspberry Pi RP2350, 1.28 inch GC9A01 240 by 240 round LCD, addressable WS2812B RGB LEDs, infrared receiver, and six onboard buttons. The source does not state component counts beyond the six buttons, wiring, memory, power, battery, electrical limits, schematic, BOM, PCB files, or test results.

Compatibility: FrogStar Badge (DEF CON 33)

Source
Seasides 2026 Roulette Badge source-backed maker documentation

maker-documented firmware behavior

Eight-stage CTF and UART progression

The README describes an eight-stage embedded CTF, 1,200-baud software UART, EEPROM-backed progression, encoding challenges, and animation unlocks. It does not prove current availability, rules, solution handling, participant scope, service operation, safety review, or firmware parity across all physical event units.

Compatibility: Seasides 2026 Roulette Badge

Source
Seasides 2026 Roulette Badge source-backed maker documentation

maker-documented hardware

ATtiny85 and eight-LED hardware baseline

The README identifies an ATtiny85 at an internal 8 MHz oscillator, a 74HC595 shift register, and eight LEDs, with data/clock/control pin mapping and VCC/GND labels. The source does not establish the final event-unit supply, battery, current budget, BOM, board revision, tests, safety evaluation, or compliance.

Compatibility: Seasides 2026 Roulette Badge

Source
INSPECTRON 34 SAO (DEF CON 34) maker design documentation published

maker-documented hardware interface

DC34 right-port SAO and USB-C power design

The maker targets DC34's right SAO port, identifies a 2 by 3 SAO 1.69bis header, and describes 3.0 V badge or USB-C power. This is an implementation-specific maker statement, not a universal fit, rail budget, hot-plug, electrical-safety, or compatibility guarantee.

Compatibility: DEF CON 34 right-side SAO design target only; other hosts and configurations unverified

Source
Cobalt DC34 Badge post-event public source documentation

maker-documented hardware platform

RP2040 curved blue LED display platform

The README identifies an RP2040 with 264 KB SRAM and 1 MB XIP flash driving a 38 by 5 curved blue C-LED virtual display arranged as a 12 by 16 PWM matrix. It names a stated maximum average output of about 2 mA per LED. These are maker-published specifications, not an independent electrical, optical, thermal, or per-unit validation.

Compatibility: Cobalt DC34 maker documentation only; no general RP2040, LED, badge-host, or DEF CON hardware compatibility claim

Source

maker-documented hardware platform

Three-board ESP32-S3 badge architecture

The maker describes one badge as an uplink/display XIAO ESP32-S3 and two XIAO ESP32-S3 scanners that share one scanner image but receive BLE-primary and Wi-Fi-primary roles at runtime. It is a source-described architecture, not proof of a universal production revision, board provenance, field reliability, or authorized radio deployment.

Compatibility: Friend or Foe Badge project only; not a general DEF CON, Packet Hacking Village, Android-device, or RF-device compatibility statement

Source
Root Access SAO (DEF CON 34) 100 kHz baseline stated

maker-documented host interface

I2C host-control and status interface

The guide identifies I2C address 0x50 and documents built-in-mode selection, all-off control, raw discrete and RGB LED writes, plus a two-byte status response. It says malformed raw writes are rejected without partial state changes. This is a published operating interface, not a warranty of host compatibility, electrical safety, bus arbitration, command support by a particular badge, or a software library.

Compatibility: Root Access SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source
SAO Many SAOs Badge (DEF CON 33) public technical README

maker-documented host-power surface

Two-18650 USB/barrel power and stated SAO budget

The README says the badge has two pre-installed 18650 batteries, can run from USB, battery, or barrel power, and provides about 30 mA when all SAOs are run from USB/barrel or about 300 mA at 3.3 V when batteries are charged. It also claims surge protection. It does not publish the circuit, cell specification, charging algorithm, fuses, voltage/current limits, measurement method, thermal behavior, fault testing, or safety certification.

Compatibility: SAO Many SAOs Badge (DEF CON 33)

Source
Cobalt DC34 Badge post-event public source documentation

maker-documented interaction and maintenance

Motion, ambient-light, touch, and USB-C configuration surface

The documentation names an SC7A20H accelerometer, ambient-light detection, three rear program buttons, one front touch sensor, fifteen configurable programs, USB-C firmware updates, and a USB-mounted configuration mode. It says the badge reduces clock speed when waiting and can enter low power when no movement is detected, but does not provide measured power, battery, host, update, or recovery results.

Compatibility: Cobalt DC34 documentation only; cable, host, firmware, physical-unit, and successful-update compatibility unverified

Source

maker-documented interaction and software surface

Passive RF-awareness and Android-over-USB-C surface

The project describes passive observation of nearby broadcast RF evidence and a USB-C Android companion for live views, display controls, and diagnostics. It does not establish detection accuracy, identification certainty, legal authority, range, data retention, user consent, secure transport, a cloud-free operation in every mode, or a safe field-use procedure.

Compatibility: Friend or Foe badge/project context only; no surveillance, identification, or operational recommendation

Source
The Shattered Shard (DEF CON 34) public player guide; operational details intentionally not reproduced

maker-documented local challenge interface

Badge-local Wi-Fi and browser quest surface

The guide says the badge exposes a local Wi-Fi/browser quest interface and includes an explicit assigned-badge-and-advertised-services boundary. The catalogue preserves that narrow interaction fact without publishing connection identifiers, credentials, local addresses, hidden resources, browser instructions, or exploitation details, and without treating a CTF surface as general conference infrastructure or a production security model.

Compatibility: The Shattered Shard challenge badge only; network configuration and authorization beyond the guide's assigned-badge context unverified

Source
Root Access SAO (DEF CON 34) public operating guide

maker-documented local operation

ATtiny1616 standalone animation and USERROW surface

The guide identifies an ATtiny1616, ten addressable RGB pixels, eleven discrete LEDs, fifty animations, a button, and non-volatile USERROW storage for a favorite and last-played animation. It describes tap and hold behavior, but does not supply firmware source, a binary release, electronics test data, a battery/runtime profile, or final-unit verification.

Compatibility: Root Access SAO (DEF CON 34)

Source
The Shattered Shard (DEF CON 34) public player guide; hardware details incomplete

maker-documented physical interaction surface

Serial, LED-panel, and labelled-SAO challenge context

The Player Guide names a CP2102 programming connector, a serial-terminal chapter, an LED-panel observation, and one physical task using only labelled SAO GPIO1/GPIO2 contacts. It does not establish connector wiring, pinout, voltage/current limits, toolchain, serial-command set, safe procedure, firmware image, general compatibility, or permission to attach hardware outside the assigned-badge context.

Compatibility: The Shattered Shard challenge badge as described in its Player Guide; physical/unit parity and safe interaction outcome unverified

Source
INSPECTRON 34 SAO (DEF CON 34) post-conference source and V5 update published

maker-documented software surface

CRT-TV GIF player and puzzle firmware

The public README and handoff describe GIF channels, a device puzzle, settings, USB-drive loading, and the V4-to-V5 firmware history. This preserves the published software surface without making a safe flashing, recovery, support, security, or source-to-unit version claim.

Compatibility: INSPECTRON 34 only; final installed firmware and every-host behavior are unverified

Source
Dante's Inferno Badge (DEF CON 32) README instruction published

maker-documented update workflow

USB UF2 firmware-update procedure

The maker repository says to power the badge, open a serial connection at 1200 baud to force boot-select mode, mount the resulting USB drive, and drag a released UF2 firmware image onto it. Pre-sale badges with acrylic require manual boot-button access while powering on. The source does not identify the controller, serial device behavior, bootloader implementation, erase/recovery model, verification, signed-image process, support path, or safety implications.

Compatibility: Dante's Inferno Badge (DEF CON 32)

Source
HRV SSTV Badge (DEF CON 34) design-stage documentation

maker-proposed interactive hardware

Planned camera, display, and image-storage surface

The README describes a camera, display, and microSD-based image surface within the planned badge. It establishes the intended project concept, not functioning capture, encoding, storage, display, interoperability, data handling, privacy, final firmware, event operation, or a delivered-unit result.

Compatibility: Proposed HRV SSTV Badge design only; hardware and software parity unverified

Source
HRV SSTV Badge (DEF CON 34) design-stage documentation; operation unverified

maker-proposed radio hardware

Source-described SSTV radio-carrier concept

The README describes separate carrier boards for a radio module as part of the planned SSTV concept. The catalogue records that high-level design claim without reproducing setup, configuration, frequency, transmission, or radio-operation procedures, and without asserting a tested assembly, authorization, license status, performance, safety, or compliance outcome.

Compatibility: Proposed HRV SSTV Badge design only; no radio-operation or completed-event claim

Source
FrogStar Badge (DEF CON 33) linked binary available

maker-published binary release

Firmware v1.0 UF2 download and copy-to-flash instruction

The maker page labels Firmware v1.0, links a FrogStarFirmware1.0.uf2 file, and says to flash by copying the firmware file to the badge. It does not state the release date, changelog, source code, license, checksums, signing, toolchain, bootloader steps, target-board configuration, rollback, recovery, or support policy.

Compatibility: FrogStar Badge (DEF CON 33)

Source
Friend or Foe Badge (DEF CON 34 Packet Hacking Village) public Gerber, panel, BOM, and STL material

maker-published fabrication archive

Released fabrication and mechanical trail

The hardware guide publishes a board BOM, single-board and panel Gerber jobs, and a battery-cage STL, and says the DEF CON run used a three-radio ESP32-S3 arrangement with external patch antennas. The files are preservation evidence, not a safe construction guide, a current supplier quote, a complete editable design-source release, or final-unit evidence.

Compatibility: Friend or Foe Badge source-design context; fabrication, battery, and regulatory outcomes remain unverified

Source
Cobalt DC34 Badge source-tree and README documentation

maker-published firmware workflow

Pico SDK build and UF2 upload path

The README identifies Pico SDK v2.3.0, a VS Code Pico-plugin build context, and a BOOT-button UF2 copy path. The recorded procedure is a source reference, not a recommendation to alter hardware or proof that a particular compiled binary matches an issued or commissioned unit.

Compatibility: Cobalt project source context only; no release-to-device mapping or support guarantee

Source
BSides Peoria 2025 HackTheBadge Challenge Badge event-period README; final device unverified

maker-published hardware outline

Maker-stated ESP32 and ILI9341 TFT parts surface

The pre-event README names an off-the-shelf ESP32, a 240×320 ILI9341 TFT panel, wiring, and two batteries. This establishes a maker-stated parts surface only; it does not prove a PCB, enclosure, wearable form, final board/module, battery chemistry/capacity/protection, power budget, or an event-unit configuration.

Compatibility: Technet8394's self-described BSides Peoria Badge Challenge 2025 project only; physical form and event-unit parity unverified

Source
Friend or Foe Badge (DEF CON 34 Packet Hacking Village) APK and checksum published 2026-09-16; field validation remains incomplete

maker-published post-event companion release

Android companion v0.67.18 nearby-list update

The v0.67.18 release says its Android companion sorts aircraft by proximity, requires a valid distance within 15 miles for helicopter and ADS-B-drone nearby alerts, refreshes distance from a recent phone location fix, and keeps Bluetooth/Privacy results stable while signal data changes. The publisher reports JVM, lint, and emulator checks and explicitly says physical-phone Bluetooth and field-location testing remain. This records a released companion update, not a badge-firmware update, physical-badge compatibility result, RF/location accuracy claim, privacy guarantee, or field-use recommendation.

Compatibility: Friend or Foe Android companion package com.friendorfoe v0.67.18 only; Android-device, physical-badge, Bluetooth, location, RF, and operational compatibility unverified

Source
DEF CON 34 Silent Disco Badge public repository; no tagged release recovered

maker-published source and firmware trail

Public KiCad, fabrication, MicroPython, and universal-UF2 trail

The repository publishes KiCad/fabrication material, MicroPython-based firmware, a native MP3-decoder path, and a prebuilt universal UF2. This supports a public technical trail, not an audited/reproducible build, signed release, source-to-device mapping, third-party dependency audit, installation instruction, event-installed media package, warranty, support channel, or security review.

Compatibility: Public project archive; matching firmware on every physical board unverified

Source